dao khanong

Thai with English subtitles

Plays with short film 10:10 directed by Pom Bunsermvicha.

  • Thursday 8 December 2016, 9:00 PM
  • Saturday 10 December 2016 1:45 PM
  • Sunday 11 December 2016 6:45 PM
  • Tuesday 13 December 2016, 6:30 PM
  • Thursday 15 December 2016, 4:15 PM
  • Friday 16 December 2016, 9:00 PM (Director Q&A after screening)
  • Saturday 17 December 2016, 1:45 PM
  • Sunday 18 December 2016, 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday 20 December 2016, 9:00 PM
  • Thursday 22 December 2016, 9:00 PM
  • Friday 23 December 2016, 6:45 PM
  • Saturday 24 December 2016, 11:15 AM
  • Sunday 25 December 2016, 1:45 PM

“..Journey through a world where the boundaries of time and space do not exist” — Film Comment


By the Time It Gets Dark tells the interwoven stories of several characters; a film director and her muse who was a student activist in 1970s, a waitress who keeps changing jobs, an actor, and an actress. Their lives are loosely connected by almost invisible threads. The narrative sheds its skin several times in the course of the film to reveal layer upon layer of the complexities that make up our lives.

Human beings are mysterious creatures. We synthesize sunlight and consume food. We breathe. We love. We hate. We destroy. And we remember.

But by nature, memory is inconstant. Memory and history, which form parts of human life, are subject to interpretation, destruction, and reconstruction.

By the Time It Gets Dark is an ode to the memory-recording and reconstructing machine that is cinema.

“This is a cinema that is far from the idea of the documentary, a cinema that exalts its proper essence: imagination.” — Filmexplorer

"Occasionally dizzying, By the Time it Gets Dark is never didactic and through her bold approach to the medium Anocha Suwichakornpong offers audiences a thrilling glimpse of the possibilities of cinema." — Kate Taylor, BFI London Film Festival

"The only tangible link between these glittering narrative shards is the figure of the waitress, who pops up toiling away in the background of almost every new setting, an ordinary figure entrusted with gluing together an extraordinary film." — James Lattimer, Slant Magazine

 

 

 

Director: Anocha Suwichakornpong
Country: Thailand, Netherlands, France, Qatar.
Duration: 105 mins
Year: 2016