Homme Less

Presented by

Screens with short film Venus, directed by Prempapan Plittapolkranpim.

doc club logo

English with Thai subtitles

Book your visit

  • Friday 30 June, 6.45pm
  • Saturday 1 July, 11.15am
  • Saturday 1 July, 9.00pm
  • Sunday 2 July, 1.45pm
  • Tuesday 4 July, 9.00pm
  • Wednesday 5 July, 6.45pm
  • Thursday 6 July, 4.15pm
  • Saturday 8 July, 1.45pm
  • Sunday 9 July, 6.45pm
  • Tuesday 11 July, 6.45pm
  • Wednesday 12 July, 4.15pm
  • Thursday 13 July, 9.00pm
  • Friday 14 July, 6.45pm
  • Saturday 15 July, 4.15pm
  • Sunday 16 July, 1.45pm
  • Wednesday 19 July, 9.00pm
  • Thursday 20 July, 6.45pm
  • Friday 21 July, 4.15pm
  • Saturday 22 July, 6.45pm
  • Sunday 23 July, 4.15pm

From all outside appearances, Mark seems to have the glamorous New York City life that many would envy. Handsome and always impeccably dressed, the charismatic former male model works as a fashion photographer, appears in movies and attends the best parties. When he leaves those events, however, he heads to the East Village— not to an overpriced loft, but to a hidden corner of a rooftop to sleep each night. Thomas Wirthensohn exposes the dark underbelly of the American Dream in an often-merciless city.

“Refreshing and challenging.” — Time Out

“Poignancy and pathos distinguish Thomas Wirthensohn's polished documentary, "Homme Less," a portrait of Mark Reay, a former model struggling as a photographer.” — New York Times

“A contemplative look into one man's life, "Homme Less" has resonance beyond just Mark Reay. The question that lingers in the air is how anyone scraping by with stars in their eyes is going to make New York work for them.” — The Playlist

Festivals and Awards

  • DOC NYC: Metropolis Grand Jury Prize (Winner)
  • Filmfestival Kitzbuehe: Best Documentary Festival Prize
  • Official Selection: Montreal World Film Festival
  • Official Selection: Vancouver International Film Festival
  • Official Selection: International Hofer Filmtage
  • Official Selection: Diagonale

 

Director: Thomas Wirthensohn
Country: Austria
Duration: 87 mins
Year: 2014