uncle boonmee poster2010 Palme d'Or Winner

Thai with English subtitles.

Plays with the short film Death Trial directed by Sarayut Kurakaew. 2016, 6 minutes.

  • Thursday 22 September 2016, 9:15 PM - 11:25 PM
  • Friday 23 September 2016, 9:15 PM - 11:25 PM
  • Saturday 24 September 2016, 6:45 PM - 8:55 PM
  • Sunday 25 September 2016, 4:15 PM - 6:25 PM
  • Tuesday 27 September 2016, 6:45 PM - 8:55 PM
  • Wednesday 28 September 2016, 9:15 PM - 11:25 PM
  • Friday 30 September 2016, 1:45 PM - 3:55 PM
  • Friday 30 September 2016, 1:45 PM - 3:55 PM
  • Saturday 1 October 2016, 11:15 AM - 1:25 PM
  • Saturday 1 October 2016, 9:15 PM - 11:25 PM
  • Sunday 2 October 2016, 6:45 PM - 8:55 PM
  • Tuesday 4 October 2016, 9:15 PM - 11:25 PM
  • Thursday 6 October 2016, 4:15 PM - 6:25 PM
  • Friday 7 October 2016, 4:15 PM - 6:25 PM
  • Saturday 8 October 2016, 1:45 PM - 3:55 PM
  • Sunday 9 October 2016, 11:15 AM - 1:25 PM

Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives centers on the last days in the life of its title character. Together with his loved ones – including the spirit of his dead wife and his lost son who has returned in a non-human form – Boonmee explores his past lives as he contemplates the reasons for his illness.

Written, produced and directed by Apichatpong Weerasethakul. The film, which explores the theme of reincarnation, won the Palme d'Or at the 2010 Cannes Film Festival, becoming the first Thai film to do so.

What you see and hear always seems perfectly natural, even if you can't exactly say why. Who needs words when you have cinema? — Time Out New York

A work of unostentatious beauty and uncloying sweetness, at once sophisticated and artless, mysterious and matter-of-fact, cosmic and humble, it asks only a measure of Boonmeevian acceptance: The movie doesn't mean anything-it simply is. — Village Voice

A moving, gently reassuring tale that softens the boundaries between humanity and nature, life and the afterlife. — The AV Club

 

Director: Apichatpong Weerasethakul
Writers: Phra Sripariyattiweti, Apichatpong Weerasethakul
Country: Thailand
Duration: 114 minutes
Genre: Drama
Year: 2010